Hi all, I'm sorry for the delay in posting.
Im currently on my gerentology prac at RPH. Im on ward 5A/B which is aged care medical rehab. Basically its the relatively acute geriatric patients or those with many co-morbidities. I have only been there a week, but from my understanding, the role of the physiotherapist on the ward basically is to Ax how the pt can be transferred by the nursing staff, and to ambulate the pt if able. Full Ax is very rarely done ( I have not seen one yet) and the only physio intervention I have seen so far is deep breathing exercises, basic mobility assessments and ambulation. Considering the physio on the ward has to see around 20 patients a day I understand that there is not much time for treatment. But i find it really frustrating that there are stoke patients, patients with other co-morbidites such as broken bones, poor balance, weak muscles etc on the ward and the only treatment they are recieving whilst on the ward is basic chest care and mobilisation. These patients would benefit from rehab, and most of them will be discharged from the ward to a destination where they will recieve rehab, however; I feel frustrated that in the mean time, whilst the patients are on the ward they're not recieving significant treatment. I mean we go to uni for 4 years, and have the skills and knowledge to treat these patients, however, due to the limited time and resources (there is not even a gym on the level) we cannot use our knowledge and skills to help these patients to our full capacity. I also feel disheartened that we know all this theory but the application of it in this area is relatively limited. I also feel that due to the above circumstances Im not going ot learn a great deal on my prac so Im not enjoying it so much at the moment. I have expressed my concerns to my supervisor nad she agreed that we are basically over qualified walkers, and she said that this week I will be able to spend some more time with the patients on my own, so I will be able to do more with them. I know I just have to make the most of the placement and Im hoping Ill end up learning more about the things Im not expecting to. Has anyone else felt like this on any of their placements?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment